New Cisco Certifications

Rashmi Bhardwaj | Blog,BUZZ

There are several certifications that are offered by Cisco Systems Inc. for the products. Many credentials of Cisco match with IT practitioner credentials of specialist, intermediate, entry level and expert-level. The managers or Network professionals are definitely valuable for the organizations in which they are employed if any of the certifications are pursued by them. However, several changes have taken place in the programs of Cisco certification in 2020 that you must be aware of for better credential planning.

Changes in the certification programs of Cisco:

If you are one among the professionals who are looking forward to give new heights to their career then new portfolios of learning are foreseen for you. As per the company, this new portfolio can perform better in covering key areas in IT with in-depth critical skills and in newer technology addressing. In these changes, certain adjustments have been introduced in CCIE, CCNP and CCNA. Also, specialist certifications’ new layer is also added by Cisco between CCNA and CCNPs.oer. Here are the details of the changes:

Note – Old certification exams for CCNA, CCNP and CCIE were valid till 23Feb2020 will new corresponding Cisco exams will be valid from 24Feb2020 onwards.


Related- CCNP Interview Questions

CCNA changes:

In IT technologies, for the job roles of associate level, Cisco has designed new CCNA program. All the CCNAs existing variants have been consolidated by Cisco in one CCNA. Therefore wide range of updated technologies, IT fundamentals and software development are covered in single exam along with several job roles. With this, retirement of the previous certifications will also take place. This refurbish is quite extensive but nothing is there that professionals who are planning and studying already for the test have to worry about.

Below is the list of old CCNA certification which will be replaced by new CCNA:

  • CCDA
  • CCNA Cloud
  • CCNA Collaboration
  • CCNA Data Center
  • CCNA Industrial
  • CCNA Routing and Switching
  • CCNA Security
  • CCNA Service Provider
  • CCNA Wireless
  • CCNA Cyber Ops

The new CCNA target track will be single CCNA exam.

Changes in CCNP and CCDP:

There is revision in the options of CCNP and CCDP of professional level. Integration of CCNP wireless and CCNP routing and switching along with CCDP will take place in CCNP enterprise certification. This option is for two exams in which core enterprise technology test is included and one is on the concentration exam from the choice of professional for customizing the demands of student in better manner.

Below is the list of old CCNP certification which will be replaced by new CCNP/CCDP:

  • CCNP Cloud
  • CCNP Collaboration
  • CCNP Data Center
  • CCNP Routing and Switching
  • CCNP Security
  • CCNP Service Provider
  • CCNP Wireless
  • CCDP Design

The new CCNP certifications will be:

  • CCNP Enterprise
  • CCNP Data Center
  • CCNP Security
  • CCNP Service Provider
  • CCNP Collaboration

Changes in CCIE:

Several significant changes have been introduced by Cisco in all the 6 tracks of CCIE program of expert level. In fact, a newer version has been introduced with revision in several CCIE certifications. Details of the changes are as under:

  • Collaboration of CCIE v2.0 to CCIE collaboration v3.0: The candidate will earn the certification of specialist collaboration certified by Cisco after passing CLCOR 300-801. Validity of this certification is for 3 years.
  • CCIE data center v3.0 from CCIE data center v2.1: after passing DCCOR 300-601, the candidate will get certification of center core Cisco certified specialist data with 3 years validity.
  • CCIE security v6.0 from CCIE security v5.0: the candidate will get core certification of security specialist certified by Cisco after passing SCOR 300-701 which is having 3 years validity.
  • CCIE service provider v5.0 from CCIE service provider v4.1: the candidate will get core certification of specialist service provider certified by Cisco after passing SPCOR 300-501 with 3 years validity.

Below is the list of old CCIE certification which will be replaced by new CCIE:

  • CCIE Routing and Switching
  • CCIE Collaboration
  • CCIE Data Center
  • CCIE Security
  • CCIE Service Provider
  • CCIE Wireless
  • CCDE Design

The new CCIE certifications are enlisted as below:

  • CCIE Enterprise Infrastructure
  • CCIE Enterprise Wireless
  • CCIE Collaboration
  • CCIE Data Center
  • CCIE Security
  • CCIE Service Provider

Related- CCIE Interview Questions

DevNet will be added to the certification program of Cisco:

This is a completely new track introduced by Cisco in the form of certification program of DevNet. It embraces software developers and network professionals while potentially developing future IT teams and one community. The mission of Cisco is also supported by this in which Cisco intends for supporting networking that is based on intent with alignment of goals of business with the results of network. In fact, the networking that is based on intent has its basis as the closing gap that lies between exact demand of business and the output delivered by IT infrastructure.

It is expected by Cisco that the program of DevNet certification can serve helpful for the professionals in combining expertise of infrastructure with programming power so that the possibilities present in networking that is based on intent could be taken advantage of. It is stated by Cisco that the program of DevNet cert (having certification of three levels) validates software developers skills along with automation specialists, DevOps engineers and other alike professionals are asked at present for handling several technologies, delivering solutions that are creative with a look at programmability. This is also helpful in shaping the workforce for the coming generations of business that are developed on Cisco technologies.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart